scientific committee

Eadsm scientific committee

The European Academy of Dental Sleep Medicine has established a Scientific Committee.

The five members of the Scientific Committee are all widely renowned experts and present
different professional backgrounds, disciplines and areas of specialization.

The Scientific Committee supports the Board in the preparation of Annual Meeting
programs, suggests literature to share with our members and works as a jury for the
assignment of EADSM awards.

The Scientific Committee is composed as follows:

Prof. Peter Cistulliprof Peter Cistulli eadsm scientific committee
Peter Cistulli is an active clinician researcher with 30 years’ experience in the fields of respiratory and sleep medicine. He holds the ResMed Chair in Sleep Medicine at the University of Sydney, where he leads the Sleep Research Theme within the multidisciplinary Charles Perkins Centre, and also Heads the Discipline of Sleep Medicine in the Faculty of Medicine and Health. He is also Clinical Director of the Sleep Medicine Program in the Department of Respiratory and Sleep Medicine at Royal North Shore Hospital, Sydney.
His thematic research has focussed on the causes of sleep related breathing disorders and their treatment. He has received national and international awards for his academic contributions to the sleep field. He is a former President of the Australasian Sleep Association and a former board member of the Sleep Health Foundation.


Prof. Marie Marklundprof Marie Marklund EADSM scientific committee
Marie Marklund, DDS, PhD works at the University Clinic in Umeå, Sweden. Her interest in snoring and sleep apnea started 36 yrs ago during a course in nitrous oxide sedation, when she got the idea to test an activator on her snoring husband. The treatment was very successful and became the start of a long collaboration with the Pulpmonary Department at Umeå University with research about treatment effects, side-effects, cardiovascular effects and longer term outcomes of OAs. Marie Marklund has collaborated with Antwerp University Hospital, Belgium. She has lectured extensively over the world including many keynote lectures and published many articles about OA treatment for OSA, including book chapters and two Task Forces for the European Respiratory Society. She has been a board member of the European Academy of Dental Sleep Medicine and has worked in the program committee for the American Academy of Dental Sleep Medicine. Marie Marklund is the recipient of the 2019 Lifetime Achievement Award from The Interdisciplinary Belgian Dental Surgery Sleep Medicine Academy, the 2018 Honorary Member Award and the 2008 Pierre Robin Award from the American Academy of Dental Sleep
Medicine, the 2014 Meier-Ewert Award from the Deutsche Gesellschaft Zahnärztliche Schlafmedizin, and the 2008 Traffic Award from the Swedish transport company, Bilfrakt.


Dr. Aarnoud HoekemaDr. Arnold Hoekema EADSM scientific committee
Aarnoud Hoekema was born on July the 16th , 1977 in Groningen, The Netherlands. In 1996 he started his dental education at the dental faculty of the University of Groningen. After receiving his dental degree in June 2001 (cum laude), he started as a registrar in training to become a clinical researcher at the Groningen University Medical Center. The first three years of this training he combined his work as a dentist at the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery & Maxillofacial Prosthetics with a PhD-project on the therapeutic outcomes of oral-appliance versus continuous positive airway pressure therapy. On March the 14th 2007 Aarnoud Hoekema completed his PhD-degree with a dissertation titled “Oral-Appliance Therapy in Obstructive Sleep Apnea-Hypopnea Syndrome: a Clinical Study on Therapeutic Outcomes”.
In 2004 Aarnoud Hoekema started his oral and maxillofacial residency at the Department of Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery of the Groningen University Medical Center. In 2010 he finished his medical degree at the Groningen University Medical Center. In 2011 he was registered as oral & maxillofacial surgeon. Presently he works as Oral & Maxillofacial Surgeon in the Tjongerschans Hospital in Heerenveen. His oral & maxillofacial practice is focused on orthognathic surgery and sleep apnea treatment. He combines this function with postdoctoral research in sleep apnea management at the University Medical Center Groningen. In 2016 he was appointed as
associate professor at the Academisch Centrum Tandheelkunde Amsterdam (ACTA). Moreover he is a founding member and was past president of the Academy of Dental Sleep Medicine in The Netherlands. He has published several articles on oral-appliance therapy for obstructive sleep apnea and presented his scientific work at numerous national and international meetings on this topic.


Prof. An BoudewynsA. Boudewyns eadsm scientific committee
An Boudewyns completed her studies in Medicine at University of Antwerp, Belgium. She obtained a degree of doctor in Medical Sciences at the Antwerp University, Belgium in 1999 and is Lecturer at the Faculty of Medicine, Translational Neurosciences at the University of Antwerp, Belgium since October 2002. She is co-author of more than 100 peer-review publications and several book chapters.
An Boudewyns is staff member at the department of Otorhinolaryngology Head and Neck Surgery of the Antwerp University Hospital Antwerp since 2001 with a subspecialty in Pediatric ENT and Pediatric sleep.
She is Board member of the European Society for pediatric Otorhinolaryngology (ESPO), member of the International Pediatric Otolaryngology Group (IPOG) and member of the European Respiratory Society Task force on Sleep Disordered breathing in children and infants. She is part of the multidisciplinary airway team at the Antwerp University Hospital and coordinator of several research project in the field of pediatric sleep-disordered breathing.


Dr. Riccardo GobbiDr. Riccardo Gobbi EADSM scientific committee
Dr. Gobbi graduated in Medicine and Surgery at the University of Bologna, subsequently he obtained the specialization in Otorhinolaryngology at the same University with 110/110 with honors discussing the thesis entitled ” The role of trans-oral robotic surgery (TORS) in the treatment of squamous cell carcinoma of the larynx at a glottic site: observational study “

In his professional experience he was an ORL volunteer visiting doctor in Forlì, Trichy (India), Trondheim (Norway). He is particularly concerned with OSAS and snoring, with particular attention to the Sleep Endoscopy.

He has been a speaker in more than 100 national and international courses and congresses. From 2014-2015 he is a teacher and tutor of EOS DRS Certificate Course Otorino Expert in Respiratory Districts in Sleep.


Prof. Dr. An Boudewyns
An Boudewyns is a pediatric ENT surgeon at the Antwerp University Hospital, Belgium.
Prof. dr. An Boudewyns graduated at the University of Antwerp in 1994 and obtained a degree of Doctor in Medical Sciences in 1999. At present, she is Associate Professor of Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology at the University of Antwerp, Belgium at the faculty of Medicine and translational neurosciences.
Prof. dr. An Boudewyns is board member of the European Society for Pediatric Otorhinolaryngology (ESPO) and co-author of the European Respiratory Society Task Force papers on pediatric sleep disordered breathing. She is co-author of more than 65 peer reviewed papers in the field of adult and pediatric obstructive sleep apnea. Her main research topics in the field of pediatric OSA are: drug-induced sleep endoscopy, multidisciplinary management of pediatric OSA, biomarkers for pediatric OSA and OSA in children with comorbidities such as obesity and Down syndrome.